Found Letterers

I came across what are new to me, but I am more than sure that their hard work has had them known in this crazy world of design for what they do best, and that is hand drawn type. A letterer to be exact. I want so badly to just perfectly scoop and swirl my asenders to meet their neighbours descenders. Ya know?! Okay, maybe I lost you after scooping and swirling, but the point is that it makes looking at the cover of a book much more fun, or the postcard you got in the mail with your name sweeping the entire front of the card. Who says the world has to remain in Times New Roman? I was so over that typeface in junior high. Writing too many papers on PCs did it for me.

via Darren Booth

Not only am I Steve Martin’s number one fan, but can you please tell me how beautiful this book cover is? He is the ultimate cool, plus he got Darren Booth to design his book cover, I knew we would be good friends!

via Darren Booth

So similar in style, as is all of his work yet undeniably beautiful, with the perfect colour combination’s. Obviously Janine at Uppercase loved it so much she made it the cover on the first issue of Work/Life. Darren Booth’s work has been seen all over Canada and the US, and it is so nice to see something that you can recognize instantly.


via Dana Tanamachi

Next up is Dana Tanamachi who I actually came across almost a year ago, but forgot to bookmark her website but thankfully found her again yesterday! I kid you not, I have had dreams about this very piece. It is so amazing! And she got to do it for Wes Anderson?! Very cool! Her website does a really good job of showing her process, which as a fellow designer I often check out other designers processes.

via Dana Tanamachi

Another great thing is that she get to work with such a large scale, which when it comes to typography, I can’t imagine that it’s easier than sketching out on an 8.5 x 11 sheet.

via Dana Tanamachi

I totally thought that this was a prop for the photoshoot. Wrong! This is a real life Dana Tanamachi at the Ace Hotel in New York, where you can actually go and stay and have this adorable chalk rendering above your head as you sleep!

via Jessica Hische

And finally the sole reason that I love typography and hand lettering, the very talented Jessica Hische. She is pure typographic amazing-ness! It is through her that I have been able to discover so many other talented typographers. (Thank you, where ever you are!) She has made me want to become a better letterer. In the mean time though, let’s look at another on of her masterpieces.

via Jessica Hische

She even makes the bottom of a pool look beautiful. But seriously, how hard would it be to make that?? It looks like a real pool! I often stare at this and imagine what layer I would even start with!

One Comment on “Found Letterers”

  1. http://andcarinsurancequotes.com says:

    Great paintings! That is the type of info that should be shared across the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for no longer positioning this put up upper! Come on over and visit my site . Thank you =)


Leave a Reply

