Happy Friday!

For some reason I decided to go book happy this week, and ended up splurging at Chapters on Whyte Ave. Don’t get me wrong, one of my favourite past times is grabbing a coffee from the upstairs Starbucks, and browsing books for hours, but I tend to splurge at places like Lux Beauty Boutique and buy countless amounts of Butter London nail polish! I am a huge book collector though. I have a thing for coffee table books. You know, the ones that you barely look at, but are just so damn pretty sitting there on your coffee table, and cost more than you should spent on them? Needless to say, I have the weekend ahead of me and I cannot wait to bury myself into these new purchases. Let me share them with you!

‘Let’s Bring Back: An Encyclopedia of Forgotten-Yet-Delightful, Chic, Useful, Curious, and Otherwise Commendable Things from Times Gone By’ By, Lesley M. M. Blume

This book was too adorable to not buy. My best friend and I both picked it up at the same time and when we realized that we both picked up the same book, we figured we not only needed to buy it, but that we are clearly two peas in a pod! This book is both whimsical and witty and includes nostalgic past times like, evening strolls, double features, Bette Davis, courtship, laundry chutes, libraries, the list goes on. All these things bring a smile to my face, I can’t wait to re-educate myself with the artful ways of living.

‘Scripts: Elegant Lettering From Design’s Golden Age‘ By, Steven Heller and Louise Fili

This book has been in my basket on my Amazon account for a while now, but when I went to Chapters earlier this week I saw it on the shelf, practically begging me to pick it up and find it a new home in my room. So I did. It is filled with of breath taking scripts from all over the world. The woman who was ringing me through even mentioned that I was buying books with such beautiful type on the covers. I am so excited to sit out in my backyard with my sketch pad and this book. Oh and the sun (it’s about time!)

Why am I so drawn to libraries and books? I find them to be so magical, and darn right beautiful. I don’t even mind the smell of old books.. weird, I know! Anyways, I encourage you all to find one thing this weekend that you love so much and take some time to do it. Hopefully it includes being outside, because what little summer we get, we need to act on it as soon as it happens. Happy Friday all!

Leave a Reply

